Skip to content


Driving Without a License

Driving without a license in Maryland could subject you to harsh penalties, particularly if you are a repeat offender, or if you do not have a license because you have been convicted of another crime.

For a first offense, you could be jailed for up to 60 days and fined up to $500. For a second or subsequent offense, you could be imprisoned for up to a year, and fined $500. A driving without a license ticket also carries a penalty of five points. Even if you do not have a license, an accumulation of points can make it difficult to keep a driver’s license in the future.

Even if you do not have a license, there are many things that I can do to protect you in court. I can often get the charges dropped. I can move to suppress all evidence arising out of the officer stopping your car, which, if granted, would leave the state without any evidence that you were driving without a license. If you did not know that you were driving without a driver’s license, I can use that fact in order to win an acquittal. Police also make many other errors that I can exploit to your advantage. For instance, police officers sometimes give motorists a ticket for driving without a driver’s license when they should actually ticket them for a different but related offense, such as driving with an expired license, driving with a suspended license, or driving on a learner’s permit without required supervision.

I can also help you get your license. Getting a license can help your case, and it can also stop you from being charged with the same offense in the future. It isn’t always easy to get the Maryland MVA to grant you a license. You may need help to become eligible, or help getting your license back. I’ve helped dozens of people get their license after they tried and failed on their own.

If you’ve been charged in Maryland with driving without a license, or with any other crime, call (301) 556-8709 today so that we can get to work on your case.