Skip to content


Urinating or Defecating in Public

Urinating or defecating in public in Maryland is unlawful, prohibited under a patchwork of civil and criminal county laws with different definitions and widely varying penalties.  While urinating and defecating in public is almost universally prohibited, there is no Maryland state law against public urination or defecation in public generally outside of the public transportation context, though other Maryland criminal laws regarding indecent exposure and the like may also be charged in these cases.

Even in counties where the potential punishments are small, charges of urination or defecation in public on your record can hurt your reputation, and cause problems when applying for employment, or anything else.  I can in most cases keep these charges from appearing on your record.  It is far better to deal with these charges effectively up front than to try to repair the damage later, when it may be too late.

There are a wide range of penalties depending on the exact jurisdiction within Maryland.  For example, urination or defecation in public is prohibited in Montgomery County under Section 32-17A of the county code, and is punishable both criminally, with a fine of up to $1000 and 6 months imprisonment, or as a civil offense, with a fine of up to $500 for a first offense and $750 for a repeat offense.  In Prince George’s County, urination or defecation in public is prohibited under Sec. 14-136.01,  it is only a civil offense punishable by up to $50.  The wording of the two statutes and the exact scope of what they prohibit is also somewhat different.  Each county in Maryland has its own law, and its own punishment.

Don’t let these charges hurt your reputation!  I can help. Call me at (301) 556‑8709, because your reputation shouldn’t be defined by one bad moment.