Skip to content


Provisional License Suspension and Revocation

As a provisional driver’s license holder in Maryland, you are at risk of having your license suspended or worse, even if you have only ever had two minor traffic tickets. Provisional license holders also face stiff insurance rates, based on their provisional status, age, and inexperience.

The best way to avoid the high insurance rates and stiff MVA penalties as a provisional license holder is to fight each and every traffic ticket in court. Even if you have already paid the ticket or pled guilty with an explanation, I can often withdraw your plea and get a full trial in court, where we have the opportunity to beat the traffic citation, or negotiate a better deal. At trial, I can effectively cross examine the officer to highlight problems with his testimony, move to exclude incriminating evidence, and use prior court rulings to show that the charges against you do not apply to your conduct.

In the event that the judge does find that you have committed the offense on the citation, I can help by reducing your punishment in court and I can also help you avoid license suspension or revocation at the MVA administrative suspension hearing.

I can usually protect you from any license suspension whatsoever. I have many years of experience handling these cases and I can make a big difference to the outcome of your case, even in dire circumstances. Call (301) 556-8709 today, because your ability to drive is too important to lose.

Maryland Provisional License Suspension and Revocation for Number of Violations

After your first ticket for a moving violation, you will have to take a driver improvement course. Just two violations could result in a 30 day suspension, and, for licensees under the age of 18, a restricted license for an additional 90 days after that. Three or more violations can result in a 180 day suspension, and four or more violations can result in license revocation. Unfortunately, these violations continue to add up until you qualify for a regular driver’s license, meaning that you could face enhanced penalties as a subsequent offender based in part on traffic citations that are many years old. The penalties below are in addition to the fines and points that would apply to a driver with a normal license. I can help you avoid these penalties by defending you in court on the underlying traffic citation, and/or at an administrative suspension hearing.

Maximum Penalties for Adult Maryland Provisional License Holders

  • First Provisional License Ticket: driver improvement course
  • Second Provisional License Ticket: 30 day suspension
  • Third Provisional License Ticket: 180 day suspension
  • Fourth Provisional License Ticket: 180 day suspension or license revocation

Maximum Penalties for Maryland Provisional License Holders Under 18 Years Old

  • First Provisional License Ticket: driver improvement course
  • Second Provisional License Ticket: 30 day suspension, plus an education and employment restricted license for an additional 90 days
  • Third Provisional License Ticket: 180 day suspension, plus an education and employment restricted license for an additional 180 days, plus a driver improvement course
  • Fourth Provisional License Ticket: license revocation, may not reapply for 180 days, and must pass tests again to be licensed

Maryland Provisional License Suspension for High-Risk Driving

A provisional license holder under the age of 18 who is found guilty or given a probation before judgment on a citation for reckless driving, negligent driving, aggressive driving, or participating in a race or speed contest can be suspended for up to six months for a first offense, or for up to a year for a second or subsequent offense. I can represent you at your MVA administrative suspension hearing to mitigate or eliminate these penalties.

Maryland Provisional License Suspension for Points for Drivers Under 18

If you are a driver under the age of 18 with a provisional license and you accumulate 5 or more points over a 12 month period for the first time, your license will be suspended for six months. If it happens a second or subsequent time, your license will be suspended for 12 months. In either case, I can almost always improve the outcome by representing you at the MVA administrative suspension hearing.

Converting a Maryland Provisional License to a Regular Maryland Driver’s License

It is a good idea to convert your provisional license to a regular license as soon as you are able to do so, as provisional license holders of every age are subject to enhanced penalties for moving violation tickets. Usually the MVA will send you a conversion card after enough time has elapsed.
In order to convert a provisional license to a regular driver’s license, a Maryland provisional license holder must not be convicted of or receive probation before judgment for any moving violation during an 18 month period. A conviction for a single ticket will reset the 18 month waiting period, even if you are only days away from completion.

A finding of probation before judgment will allow you to avoid the points associated with a conviction. However, it will still add to the total number of moving violation citations that you have accumulated on your provisional license and reset the 18 month waiting period before you can get a regular driver’s license. It can also trigger an administrative suspension hearing for the number of prior tickets that you have paid or been found responsible for in court.

If you are found guilty of a moving violation citation, the 18 month period will restart on the date of the conviction or the date of the finding of probation before judgment. If your provisional license is suspended, revoked, or canceled for any reason, the 18 month period will restart when your provisional driver’s license is restored.

In the event that you forget to upgrade your provisional license to a regular driver’s license when you are eligible to do so, and then commit a moving violation, you will generally still be eligible for a regular driver’s license.

If you are a provisional license holder and you have been issued a traffic ticket, you face serious penalties and years of exorbitant insurance rates. I can help you avoid these consequences. Call (301) 556-8709 today so that we can get to work on your case.