Second Degree Assault in Maryland is charged in various situations involving offensive physical contact with another person, or a threat or attempt to offensively physically contact another person. Most second degree assaults are misdemeanors that carry a maximum penalty of 10 years in jail and a $2500 fine.
Second degree assault can also be a felony in Maryland in some cases. If you intentionally cause an injury to a law enforcement officer, parole or probation officer, or any first responder while they are performing their duties, it is a felony second degree assault, the maximum sentence is 10 years in jail, and the maximum fine is doubled to $5000. An injury is considered to be any impairment of physical condition, but excludes minor injuries. Your charging document may abbreviate your charges as something like “CR 3-203 Assault-Sec Degree” or “CR 3-203(c)(2) Assault Sec Deg-LE/P/FIRE/EMS” for misdemeanor or felony second degree assault.
Because second degree assaults can involve physical injury to another person, or the threat of physical injury, there are special issues involved regarding bail and pretrial release in these cases, as well as potential collateral consequences related to employment in certain fields. Judges and prosecutors may regard a second degree assault defendant as a danger to the public requiring incarceration, but there are many things we can do to protect your freedom and your record.
All second degree assaults are serious offenses that require an experienced attorney to defend effectively. I can help. Call me at (301) 556‑8709 today, because your case requires immediate attention.